Journal, Day 1496

J. T. O'Malley
2 min readApr 24, 2024

Tuesday, 23 April 2024

Ukraine War: Day 791

Hamas-Israel War: Day 199

Mass shootings in the USA in 2024: 124

Covid day 13

Is it me, or does the “positive” line look more definitive? I thought it was supposed to fade into oblivion as the virus fades, but this looks like it was drawn by a newly opened red Sharpie.

Yesterday’s sinus irritation began migrating into my chest area and manifesting itself into a hoarse cough. The incessant itchy tickle that used to be in my nose is now right below my voice box. Instead of feeling like I’m always on the verge of sneezing, I feel like I’m always on the verge of hacking up a lung. This is not an improvement, but it’s at least progress.

We took Charlie to get his nails groomed today. He’d been getting his toes caught on things and he couldn’t put his feet flat on a surface because the claws were pushing them upwards. I stayed in the car. The only reason I went was so I could hold the travel cage and hopefully keep him from getting carsick. My husband donned a mask and took him into the groomer. It took about three minutes.

He was especially cuddly for the rest of the day. I’m not sure if it’s because he was traumatized from the toweling and needed comfort, or he was happy that his feet felt better.

We would groom him ourselves, but I want someone else to be the bad guy. I don’t want our birds to associate us with unpleasant things like nail trims and towels, I’d much rather have them associate us with comfort and praise after the dirty deed is done. (“Clippy lady wrapped me in a towel… bad clippy lady! Mommy, hold me..”)

Bedtime.

--

--

J. T. O'Malley

I am The Finder of Impossible Things. Bird lover, VW & SmartCar enthusiast. Cancer killer. Humanitarian. Nice lady.