Journal, Day 1498

J. T. O'Malley
2 min readApr 26, 2024

Thursday, 25 April 2024

Ukraine War: Day 793

Hamas-Israel War: Day 201

Mass shootings in the USA in 2024: 124

Covid day 15

We didn’t bother testing today. I’m still congested, coughing, and snotty with intermittent fever spikes, so it’s probably safe to assume I’d test positive. Why waste a test we had to pay for? I’ve used up my entire FSA for the whole year in the last two weeks.

I’d rather talk about something else anyway. Charlie and Kiki have learned new behaviors. Charlie has learned that if he poops in his cage before playtime, he can come out right away and not make a stop at the play stand. He also has decided that he likes shoulders. My husband had a Zoom meeting today and he spent most of it sitting on my husband’s forearm and watching intently. Weirdly, none of the other attendees noticed the little green parrot sitting there on camera and preening.

Kiki flew from her cage door directly to the play stand during flight play this evening. She usually flies to the sofa arm and walks the rest of the way, but she was focused on the treat cup. All of the birds are molting and they’re all really hungry. She made a beeline to the treat cup full of pellets, and she was very proud of herself. She even made a 90-degree turn mid-air on the way.

We had a lovely steak and salad dinner, and now the day is winding down. My left sinus cavity is stuffy and I feel mildly feverish and loopy. The glop in my nose and throat has turned green. I’m not sure what that means, but it’s really gross.

Time for bed.

--

--

J. T. O'Malley

I am The Finder of Impossible Things. Bird lover, VW & SmartCar enthusiast. Cancer killer. Humanitarian. Nice lady.