Journal, Day 1502

J. T. O'Malley
2 min readApr 30, 2024

Monday, 29 April 2024

Ukraine War: Day 797

Hamas-Israel War: Day 205

Mass shootings in the USA in 2024: 132

Covid day 19

Last night we re-tested in hopes that the restful weekend made a difference. My test was “failed” (there was no “C” line at all), but my husband tested positive. Still. His “T” line had faded somewhat, but it was still there. I still feel like crap, and my husband woke up feeling loopy and not safe to drive. He stayed home and tried to rest while working at the same time, and I developed a bangeroo of an earache over the course of the day.

I feel better, but still pretty awful, The fatigue is debilitating. The earache is not helping.

We’ve agreed that we will NOT expose our friends and colleagues to this thing if we can help it. We’re worried about our jobs. We made plans to go to the Renaissance Faire this coming weekend, but if we’re still testing positive, we won’t go. No question.

Our friends’ health is more important and we don’t want to expose unknown people who might be high risk if we can help it. The current variant (JN.1) is reportedly “highly transmissible” — and people who have compromised immunity (like me) may not be able to fight it. After all, here I am after three weeks and I’m still having nasty symptoms. I wouldn’t wish this thing on anyone. People are still being hospitalized and dying of this virus.

We’re both getting stir-crazy. The birds are picking up on the vibe. Charlie was unsettled and nippy today. Kiki is manic and nervous. Houdini spent the last several days hiding under his coconut shell. We’re trying to maintain their sleep/wake, feeding, and play schedules as best we can, but we can’t help the emotional and mental toll this has taken on all of us.

My doctor said it’s “a process.” That was an epic understatement.

--

--

J. T. O'Malley

I am The Finder of Impossible Things. Bird lover, VW & SmartCar enthusiast. Cancer killer. Humanitarian. Nice lady.