Journal, Day 1653

J. T. O'Malley
3 min read5 hours ago

--

Friday, 27 September 2024

Ukraine War: Day 948

Hamas-Israel War: Day 355

Mass shootings in the USA in 2024: 406

Days until the 2024 Election: 39

Way back in 1989 or 1990 (I’m unclear of the exact date) I walked into an enormous stage at Sony Studios to report for my first permit day of work, and was dazzled by a set of a real ship, sitting in water in a dock, with an entire fishing village extending all the way back to the rear wall and into the perms. I think I stood there for a good five or ten minutes with my mouth hanging open before someone walked up and asked me if I belonged there.

I worked as a grip on the movie “Hook” for a total of 16 days. I wasn’t in the union yet, so I didn’t get a screen credit, but I did get to go to the wrap party. To this day, those 16 days were some of the most memorable and fulfilling moments in my entire 36+ year career in “the industry.”

Besides getting to work with Robin Williams, Dustin Hoffman, the late (great) Bob Hoskins, Julia Roberts, and of course, Steven Spielberg, I got to spend three shoot days in the presence of Maggie Smith.

She was younger than I am right now back then, so she had to spend several hours in a makeup trailer being “aged” for her role as Wendy Darling. Her patience for this arduous process was legendary. What struck me most about her was the incredible inner stillness she carried. It was as if a film set was her home.

She was kind to everyone, especially the children acting alongside her. I remember she was very affectionate with the shaggy dog as well. I got the impression that she held a special affection for Robin Williams, as if she knew how fragile he was, and how much he wanted to be great in the role of Peter Pan.

Every time she walked onto the set, the room grew quiet, because we all felt it; we were in the presence of an icon. She was already acclaimed for her many performances on stage and screen, and we were all captivated by her.

Dame Margaret Natalie Smith passed away today, at the age of 89. I’ve enjoyed her performances my entire life, from the first time I saw her in “The Honey Post” (1967) at a revival movie house when I was 10, to “Murder By Death” (1976), “Gosford Park” (2001), and her wonderful performances in the “Harry Potter” films as well as portraying Violet Crawley in “Downton Abbey.

But my favorite will always be Wendy Darling. Because I was there and got to see her perform live, with my own eyes and with my own heart. Rest in peace, great lady. Your legacy will be remembered.

--

--

J. T. O'Malley

I am The Finder of Impossible Things. Bird lover, VW & SmartCar enthusiast. Cancer killer. Humanitarian. Nice lady.